11 April 2014

Friday Finds #2




Friday Finds is a weekly post the tells you lovelies about some of the books I've found this week. Whether it be an ARC, a classic or anything in between; these are books I've discovered over the past 7 days.



Blue Notes

by Carrie Lofty


"For fans of Jamie McGuire and S.C. Stephens, a sizzling new adult novel featuring the tumultuous relationship between a young piano prodigy and a reluctant billionaire playboy—set against the vibrant backdrop of a New Orleans college campus.

After being bounced from foster family to foster family, Keeley, a talented pianist, is ready to start over as a junior at Tulane. But when she plays a small concert that attracts the attention of Jude, a brooding playboy and heir to an enormous fortune in the wake of his parents’ tragic death, suddenly Keeley’s life is thrown off balance once again.
Jude is the first person to confront her about the pain behind her music, and she struggles with whether or not to let him into her life, or to keep protecting herself from the hurt that relationships have caused her in the past. But Keeley’s about to learn that the melancholy young billionaire who appears to have everything he wants can open her eyes to exactly what she needs…"






















Always Emily by Michaela MacColl

"Emily and Charlotte Brontë are about as opposite as two sisters can be. Charlotte is practical and cautious; Emily is headstrong and imaginative. But they do have one thing in common: a love of writing. This shared passion will lead them to be two of the first published female novelists and authors of several enduring works of classic literature. But they’re not there yet. First, they have to figure out if there is a connection between a string of local burglaries, rumors that a neighbor’s death may not have been accidental, and the appearance on the moors of a mysterious and handsome stranger. The girls have a lot of knots to untangle—before someone else gets killed"

Jane Eyre 

by Charlotte Brontë


"Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity. She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman's passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed. With a heroine full of yearning, the dangerous secrets she encounters, and the choices she finally makes, Charlotte Bronte's innovative and enduring romantic novel continues to engage and provoke readers."



Dangerous Creatures
by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl


"Ridley Duchannes will be the first to tell you that she's a bad girl. She's Dark. She's a Siren. You can never trust her, or even yourself when she's around. Lucky for her, Wesley "Link" Lincoln can never seem to remember that; quarter Incubus or not, his heart is Mortal when it comes to Ridley. When Link heads to New York City to start a music career, Ridley goes along for the ride-and she has her own reasons. As if leaving small-town Gatlin for the big city, trying to form a band, and surviving life with a partially reformed Siren isn't hard enough already, Link soon learns he has a price on his head that no Caster or Mortal can ever pay."



Thoughts

Okay, so I actually heard about Blue Notes a little while ago, although I only recently got my hands on a copy and I am currently delving into it's story! It's dangerously mesmerising and has your attention from the very beginning. I will post a review NEXT WEEK so keep an eye out for that!!

Always Emily is a sweet little YA period book that I read this week. Check out the review on the link bellow... It's one of my favourite historical novels so I'm really excited to share it with you. 

NOW, I didn't discover Jane Eyre this week, obviously! I'm actually a massive fan - well of the movie adaptation anyways - although after reading Always Emily I've had a sudden urge to read it. So this week it got added to my wish list.

And lastly - this is where I start fangirling - is Dangerous Creatures! EEK! I'm a ridiculously big fan of the Beautiful Creatures books and this new series has got me all excited. What's got me more excited is the fact that I got my hands on an ARC! But for all you muggles it's out May 20th. 

1 comment:

  1. Hello, I've nominated you for the Liebster Award, please follow the link to find out more and what you need to do. :) http://kayceekblog.blogspot.com/p/theliebster-award-is-given-in.html
    Great blog!

    ReplyDelete