Guest Post: Heather @ The Turning Pages

 photo ScreenShot2014-06-20at224516_zps65130c6f.jpg
Top 5 Books of 2014
by Heather

Hi everyone! My name is Heather & I am one half of the duo that makes up The Turning Pages! Today on The YA’s Nightstand, I am going to share my
Top Five Books I’ve Read [so far] this Year!



One.



A British nanny looking for a low-key summer finds buried secrets, murderous attention, and unexpected romance when she visits the Nantucket Sound.
The Nantucket Sound is a beachfront playground for the privileged and elite, where the sunny days are filled with scenic bike rides, backyard picnics, and bonfire parties.
But all Ren Kingston - a visiting Brit still reeling from heartbreak - really wants is a quiet summer as a nanny for one of Nantucket's wealthy families. Getting acquainted with handsome Jeremy and his young group of trust fund, private school kids was not part of the plan. Neither was befriending the local bad boy whose reputation is more dangerous than charming.
After a dead body is found next to The Sound's postcard-perfect view, Ren starts to wonder where the real threat lies. Because it's becoming clear that her newfound 'friends' are much more than they seem. They're hiding secrets. Secrets that Ren wants no part of.
But once The Sound has you in its current, it won't want to let you go.


My Thoughts.
Oh my goodness! I loved this book! Sarah Alderson had me completely engrossed in this book from beginning to end. There is an element of suspense that will leave you on the edge of your seat. And the twist at the end...definitely one I wasn’t expecting! I read this book with a few other bloggers & we loved our weekly discussions.



Two.



The highly anticipated conclusion to Kiera Cass's #1 New York Timesbestselling Selection series, The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales. The One is the perfect finale for fans who have followed America's whirlwind romance since it began--and a swoon-worthy read for teens who have devoured Veronica Roth'sDivergent, Ally Condie's Matched, or Lauren Oliver's Delirium.The Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she entered the competition to become the next princess of Illéa, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen--and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants.Find out who America will choose in The One, the enchanting, beautifully romantic third book in the Selection series!

My Thoughts.

I’ve loved this series from the very beginning. And of course, like any series, it’s hard to see it come to an end. In this case, Kiera Cass does The Selection Series justice. I just loved The One and the outcome was simply perfectiong..in my opinion. If you haven’t read it yet or if you haven’t even started the series, I recommend that you do so immediately!




Three. 




For Macallan and Levi, it was friends at first sight. Everyone says guys and girls can’t be just friends, but these two are. They hang out after school, share tons of inside jokes, their families are super close, and Levi even starts dating one of Macallan’s friends. They are platonic and happy that way.
Eventually they realize they’re best friends — which wouldn’t be so bad if they didn’t keep getting in each other’s way. Guys won’t ask Macallan out because they think she’s with Levi, and Levi spends too much time joking around with Macallan, and maybe not enough time with his date. They can’t help but wonder . . . are they more than friends or are they better off without making it even more complicated?
From romantic comedy superstar Elizabeth Eulberg comes a fresh, fun examination of a question for the ages: Can guys and girls ever really be just friends? Or are they always one fight away from not speaking again — and one kiss away from true love?



My Thoughts.

Better off Friends is one of my favorite Elizabeth Eulberg books [to date]. I just loved the storyline, the characters, and the humor that was throughout. It’s a fun and quick read and one that will leave you feeling good from the first page all the way to the end. Enjoy it!



Four.



Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.
I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.
But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.



My Thoughts.

I’ve recently started reading more NA [New Adult] books lately and this one is by far one of my favorites. Consider me one of Julie Cross’ biggest fans. This book definitely didn’t change that for me. I am a big fan of the TV show, Grey’s Anatomy, making this book perfect for me. So, if you haven’t given NA a try yet, might I suggest indulging in a little Third Degree.

Five.



A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell
Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude surfs and cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and divisive ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as an unpredictable new mentor. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. This radiant, fully alive, sometimes very funny novel from the critically acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.



My Thoughts.

Okay, so this book doesn’t hit stores until this fall, but I can’t help but gush about it. I LOVED Jandy’s first book, The Sky is Everywhere. And the same goes for this one. I had to force myself to read slowly so I could take it all in. This book left me speechless and is more than just a book. It’s a work of art in it’s own magical way. It needs to be on your radar!


Well, those are my Top Five 2014 Reads [so far]. Thank you so much to Mily for having me & I hope you’ve found a few books to add to your TBR list!


Comments